By geoparc

An affluence that reverses the forecasts

STRONG ACHALANDING IN PERCÉ GEOPARC
AN AFFLUENCE THAT REVERSES THE FORECAST

Percé, 3 august 2017 - The Percé Geopark knows a much higher traffic than could have been imagined since the very beginning of the tourist season. For the first 10 days of the construction holiday only, there are 6 times more customers than 2016. The 1er last August, the Geopark had already welcomed more than twice as many visitors as for the whole year 2016.
"We had been confident in our forecasts, since two major attractions (the suspended glass platform and the zip line) were added to the overall offer of the Geopark. But even in our wildest hopes, we would not have imagined such a large traffic, "explains the president of the board of directors of the Geopark, Cathy Poirier.
Measures have been put in place to maintain a quality service for the flow of tourists wishing to take advantage of the attractions of the Geopark: hiring additional staff, extending the opening hours, opening an overflow parking, adding a second shuttle, additional display at the reception and an information booth outside the pavilion.
In this wave of popularity of the Geopark, the team does not neglect any effort to meet the demand. Highlighting the extraordinary work of the Geopark employees, who first and foremost prioritize the safety of all, Ms. Poirier approaches the second half of the season with great optimism: "We are having a memorable season. We sincerely thank the people who visit us and make the success of the Geopark. We understand that some irritants such as wait times can be sometimes uncomfortable for some, but rest assured that we work tirelessly to provide the best possible service to as many people as possible! Concludes the president.

For more information: www.geoparcdeperce.com
Information and interview with Cathy Poirier:
MC Costisella Communications / Marie-Claude Costisella / lagencemcc@gmail.com

By geoparc

Bonaventure Island and the Rock

Two internationally renowned parks

In Percé, two internationally renowned parks, the Bonaventure Island and Percé Rock National Park and the UNESCO Global Geopark in Percé are waiting for you.

Bonaventure Island and Percé Rock National Park has a rich natural, historical and geological heritage. Carved by the weather and the sea, at the end of the Gaspé Peninsula, it has fortress Bonaventure Island and as a stone vessel the majestic Percé Rock, Quebec's tourist emblem. Its unique flora and fauna, including its famous gannet colony, make it a must-see destination, as is the built heritage of the island, the last witness to the islanders' lives of the last century. The Bonaventure Island and Percé Rock National Park is displayed by its rich natural, historical and geological heritage. Carved by the weather and the sea, at the end of the Gaspé Peninsula, it has fortress Bonaventure Island and as a stone vessel the majestic Percé Rock, Quebec's tourist emblem. Its unique flora and fauna, including its famous gannet colony, make it a must-see destination, as is the built heritage of the island, the last witness to the islanders' lives of the last century.

The new UNESCO Global Geopark in Percé offers geology, adventure and thrill seekers a UNIQUE opportunity to discover 500 millions of years ago. Under the sign of novelty and pleasure, easily accessible, to be entertained in the heart of the exceptional beauties that Percé offers and fall under the spell of unknown secrets. A campsite, a suspended glass platform, a zip line, multimedia presentations, guided hikes, 18 km of trails and 23 geosites of interest to discover are the charm of this playground and learning incomparable.

Welcome to Percé!

By geoparc

The Geopark of Percé launches its summer season 2017 under the sign of the novelty

The Geopark of Percé launches its summer season 2017 under the sign of the novelty

 

The Geopark of Percé launches its summer season 2017 under the sign of the novelty

Percé, 23 juin 2017 - The Géoparc of Percé inaugurates the 23 June the 2017 summer season under the sign of the novelty. First, let's emphasize that it's in the evening (at 21h30) that a brand new outdoor multimedia projection, developed during the last year by the Geopark, will be unveiled in collaboration with the Micmac Nation of Gespeg. The designer of Tektonik, XYZ Cultural Technology, realized this magnificent transposition of the Micmac Creation Legend of the world. The free screening entitled "It's 21 hours in Percé" tells the story of Glouskap, the very first Micmac.

"The Micmac Nation of Gespeg, which I proudly represent, is honored to join in the success of this collaborative project that we celebrate together today, which confirms that when Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal communities join forces, we are able to accomplish great and beautiful things, "said the head of the Gespeg Micmac Nation, Manon Jeannotte.

The evening of 23 June will also be the unveiling of the commemorative plaque of the founding members of the Geopark of Percé. Installed in the reception area of ​​the Experiential Pavilion, it symbolizes the foolproof will of a group of Perce business people who dared to dream of a great unifying project. It is set up prominently so that we can remember that it is thanks to the unwavering support of local businesses and organizations that the cooperative has successfully completed the Geopark project.

In addition, the unveiling of a spectacular work of art on the site of the Experiential Pavilion will allow visitors to (re) discover the artist Ludovic Boney, Lévis. The contemplative aspect of the work entitled "A glitch, an apple, a culture" is against the current of contemporary frenzy. It is part of a reflection where time can be perceived at the rate of nature, that is to say, slow, calm and transcendent.

A new historical interpretation trail is also featured at the Geopark this year. Twelve interpretive panels tell anecdotes and facts that have marked the course of the village's history. For example, we learn that summer 68 in the summer 70, Plume Latraverse played at Percé at Georges and Denise Caron. He frequented with his band of "Bad companions" the bar The fisherman's hold of the Hotel-Motel Manoir Percé. His song "Gaspoésie" was born from this time.

Burst: The shuttle Geopark is in operation as of June 23. It allows the transport of people to the site of the suspended glass platform from 9h to 18h. Towards the end of July, the zip line will also be open to the public: chills guaranteed on 230 meters. On the campsite, a new service building has been installed for more comfort. This building will delight campers 4 seasons. Finally, the Caisse Desjardins du Littoral Gaspésien announced the financial support of 50 000 $.

DATE: 23 JUNE 2016 - from 19h30 to 21h30
LOCATION: PERCÉ GEOPARC EXPERIENCE PAVILION - 180, WEST 132 ROAD, PIERCED
MEDIA INFO: Marie-Claude Costisella / lagencemcc@gmail.com

By geoparc

Une affluence qui renverse les prévisions

FORT ACHALANDAGE AU GÉOPARC DE PERCÉ
UNE AFFLUENCE QUI RENVERSE LES PRÉVISIONS

Percé, 3 août 2017 – Le Géoparc de Percé connait un achalandage beaucoup plus élevé qu’on aurait pu l’imaginer et ce, depuis le tout début de la saison touristique. Pour les 10 premiers jours du congé de la construction seulement, on dénombre 6 fois plus de clients qu’en 2016. Le 1er août dernier, le Géoparc avait déjà accueilli plus du double de visiteurs que pour toute l’année 2016.
« Nous avions été confiants dans nos prévisions, puisque deux attraits majeurs (la plateforme vitrée suspendue et la tyrolienne) venaient s’ajouter à l’offre globale du Géoparc. Mais même dans nos espoirs les plus fous, on n’auraient osé imaginer un achalandage aussi important » explique la présidente du conseil d’administration du Géoparc, Cathy Poirier.
Des mesures ont été mises en place afin de maintenir un service de qualité pour le flot de touristes qui souhaite profiter des attraits du Géoparc: embauche de personnel supplémentaire, prolongement des heures d’ouverture, ouverture d’un stationnement de débordement, ajout d’une deuxième navette, affichage supplémentaire à l’accueil et ajout d’un kiosque d’information à l’extérieur du pavillon.
Dans cette vague de popularité du Géoparc, l’équipe ne néglige aucun effort pour répondre à la demande. Soulignant le travail extraordinaire des employés du Géoparc, qui priorisent d’abord et avant tout la sécurité de tous, Mme Poirier aborde la deuxième moitié de saison avec beaucoup d’optimisme : « Nous connaissons une saison mémorable. Nous remercions sincèrement les gens qui nous rendent visite et qui font le succès du Géoparc. Nous comprenons que certains irritants comme les temps d’attentes puissent être parfois incommodants pour certains, mais soyez assurés que nous travaillons sans relâche afin d’offrir le meilleur service possible au plus grand nombre de gens possible ! » conclut la présidente.

Pour plus d’informations: www.geoparcdeperce.com
Renseignements et entrevue avec Cathy Poirier:
MC Costisella Communications / Marie-Claude Costisella / lagencemcc@gmail.com

By geoparc

L’Île Bonaventure et le Rocher

Deux parcs de renommées internationales

À Percé, deux parcs de renommées internationales, le Parc national de l’Île-Bonaventure-et-du-Rocher-Percé et le Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé n’attendent que vous.

Le parc national de l’Île-Bonaventure-et-du-Rocher-Percé s’affiche par son riche patrimoine naturel, historique et géologique. Sculpté par le temps et la mer, à l’extrémité de la péninsule gaspésienne, il possède comme forteresse l’île Bonaventure et comme vaisseau de pierre le majestueux rocher Percé, emblème touristique du Québec. Sa flore et sa faune singulières, dont sa célèbre colonie de fous de Bassan, en font une destination incontournable, tout comme le patrimoine bâti de l’île, dernier témoin de la vie des insulaires du siècle dernier. Le parc national de l’Île-Bonaventure-et-du-Rocher-Percé s’affiche par son riche patrimoine naturel, historique et géologique. Sculpté par le temps et la mer, à l’extrémité de la péninsule gaspésienne, il possède comme forteresse l’île Bonaventure et comme vaisseau de pierre le majestueux rocher Percé, emblème touristique du Québec. Sa flore et sa faune singulières, dont sa célèbre colonie de fous de Bassan, en font une destination incontournable, tout comme le patrimoine bâti de l’île, dernier témoin de la vie des insulaires du siècle dernier.

Le nouveau Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé offre aux amateurs de géologie, d’aventures et d’émotions fortes une occasion UNIQUE de partir à la découverte de 500 millions d’années. Sous le signe de la nouveauté et du plaisir, facilement accessible, pour se divertir au coeur des beautés exceptionnelles qu’offre Percé et tomber sous le charme de secrets méconnus. Un camping, une plateforme vitrée suspendue, une tyrolienne, des présentations multimédia, des randonnées guidées, 18 km de sentiers à parcourir et 23 géosites d’intérêt à découvrir font le charme de ce terrain de jeux et d’apprentissage incomparable.

Bienvenue à Percé !

By geoparc

Le Géoparc de Percé lance sa saison estivale 2017 sous le signe de la nouveauté

Le Géoparc de Percé lance sa saison estivale 2017 sous le signe de la nouveauté

 

Le Géoparc de Percé lance sa saison estivale 2017 sous le signe de la nouveauté

Percé, 23 juin 2017 – Le Géoparc de Percé inaugure le 23 juin la saison estivale 2017 sous le signe de la nouveauté. D’abord, soulignons que c’est en soirée (à 21h30) que sera dévoilée une toute nouvelle projection multimédia extérieure, développée au cours de la dernière année par le Géoparc, de concert avec la Nation Micmac de Gespeg. Le concepteur de Tektonik, XYZ Technologie Culturelle, a réalisé cette magnifique transposition de la Légende de la création du monde Micmac. La projection gratuite intitulée « Il est 21 heures à Percé » raconte l’histoire de Glouskap, le tout premier Micmac.

« La Nation Micmac de Gespeg que je représente fièrement, est honorée de se joindre à la réussite de ce projet collaborateur que nous célébrons ensemble aujourd’hui et qui confirme que lorsque les communautés autochtones et allochtones unissent leurs efforts, nous sommes en mesure d’accomplir de belles et grandes choses » a souligné la Cheffe de la Nation Micmac de Gespeg, Manon Jeannotte.

La soirée du 23 juin sera aussi celle du dévoilement de la plaque commémorative des membres fondateurs du Géoparc de Percé. Installée dans l’espace d’accueil du Pavillon expérientiel, elle symbolise la volonté à toute épreuve d’un groupe de gens d’affaires de Percé qui a osé rêver à un grand projet rassembleur. Elle est installée bien en vue pour que l’on se souvienne que c’est grâce au soutien indéfectible d’entreprises et d’organismes du milieu que la coopérative a su mener à bon port le projet du Géoparc.

De plus, le dévoilement d’une œuvre d’art spectaculaire sur le site du Pavillon expérientiel permettra aux visiteurs de (re)découvrir l’artiste Ludovic Boney, de Lévis. L’aspect contemplatif de l’œuvre intitulée « Un pépin, une pomme, une culture » est à contre-courant de la frénésie contemporaine. Elle s’inscrit dans une réflexion où le temps pourra être perçu au rythme de la nature, c’est-à-dire lent, calme et transcendant.

Un nouveau sentier d’interprétation historique est également en vedette au Géoparc cette année. Douze panneaux d’interprétation racontent des anecdotes et des faits qui ont marqué le cours de l’histoire du village. Par exemple, on y apprend que de l’été 68 à l’été 70, Plume Latraverse chambrait à Percé chez Georges et Denise Caron. Il fréquentait avec sa bande de « Mauvais compagnons » le bar La cale du pêcheur de l’Hôtel-Motel Manoir Percé. Sa chanson « Gaspoésie » est née de cette époque.

En rafale: La navette du Géoparc est en opération à compter du 23 juin. Elle permet le transport des gens vers le site de la plateforme vitrée suspendue de 9h à 18h. Vers la fin juillet, la tyrolienne sera également ouverte au public: frissons garantis sur 230 mètres. Sur le camping, un nouveau bâtiment de services a été installé pour plus de confort. Ce bâtiment fera la joie des campeurs 4 saisons. Finalement, la Caisse Desjardins du Littoral Gaspésien a fait l’annonce d’une aide financière de 50 000 $.

DATE: 23 JUIN 2016 – de 19h30 à 21h30
LIEU : PAVILLON EXPÉRIENTIEL DU GÉOPARC DE PERCÉ – 180, ROUTE 132 OUEST, PERCÉ
INFOS MÉDIAS : Marie-Claude Costisella / lagencemcc@gmail.com