Scientific development

The UNESCO Global Geopark in Percé is located in the heart of a large orogenic chain, called the Appalachians, which covers the Atlantic side of the North American continent. Its formation, related to magmatic and tectonic events, is related to the opening of the Atlantic Ocean during the Jurassic and Cretaceous (about 150 million years ago). During the last 20 000 years, during the last ice age, the Quebec segment of this chain was subjected to the erosive action of glacial elements, which shaped the current landscape.

Visitors to the UNESCO Global Geopark can discover a territory particularly rich in rock archives (rocks and fossils) and various forms of relief that bear witness to its past and recent past. The rocks record 170 million years of regional geological history in a very small area (40 km²) and it is possible to see some glacial remains of the Quaternary. These rocks, unlike many of their counterparts elsewhere in the Appalachians, are weakly metamorphosed, allowing the textures and structures formed during their deposition to be recognized.

The rocks allow to contemplate several geological phenomena: from sedimentation to fault processes (from meter to kilometer) and deformation related to erosion, sedimentary transport, landslides, fossils and coal deposits (only known presence of coal in the province of Quebec).


An exploration and observation framework

The main objective of a Geopark is above all to conserve the structure of its habitats, its fauna and flora. It achieves its objectives through a three-pronged approach: conservation, education and geotourism. A Geopark provides a setting for exploration and observation, where it is possible to touch, examine and reconnect with specimens of interest, such as rock structures, rare plants and certain animal species. It is also the subject of various scientific studies, in addition to offering a range of activities to enjoy the landscapes.


Research projects - Study internships - Summer employment

The Geopark of Percé received in April 2018 accreditation UNESCO Global Geopark. This recognition demonstrates the region's potential for research projects, study internships and student jobs. The main objective of all geoparks is the protection and enhancement of their natural and cultural heritage. Documenting the heritage of the territory by acquiring more in-depth knowledge will allow this exceptional environment to shine fully in the years to come.

Possible fields of study at the UNESCO Global Geopark of Percé: geology, geography, biology, sociology, anthropology, history and archeology.

Natural Sciences
The territory of the Geopark of Percé corresponds to the limits of the municipality of Percé, from Cap d'Espoir to Fort-Prével. The numerous rocky outcrops make it possible to appreciate a concentration of geological formations dating from the Cambrian to the Carboniferous. Several areas are relevant to research, such as paleontology and Quaternary geomorphology. Marine and terrestrial environments also support a rich biodiversity, particularly in the Barachois de Malbaie, the largest wetland in the Gaspé.

Humanities
This is a very important aspect at the Percé Geopark, since the organization was born from the mobilization of 20 entrepreneurs and 5 local organizations. They came together to develop a solidarity cooperative and thus create a lever for sustainable development for Percé.

At the historical and archaeological level, the territory is rich in several migratory waves. In particular, members of the Mi'kmaq, Basque, French, English and Acadian nations have settled in the region. An archaeological characterization study has demonstrated the strong potential of Percé, while very few archaeological excavations have been carried out so far. (Archaeological characterization study of the Percé heritage site, 2015. ARCHÉOCÈNE inc., Unpublished report, 73 pages.)

Partnerships
The UNESCO Global Geopark of Percé wishes to stimulate scientific research in its territory through agreements and partnerships with research centers and universities in Quebec. The organization also offers supervision for study internships, support for field logistics and rewarding summer jobs in an open and dynamic environment.

If you are interested in this environment with its exceptional natural and cultural heritage, do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact: Isabelle Cyr-Parent, Science and Education Manager
Email: isabellecyrparent@geoparcdeperce.com
Phone: 418-616-4249


Heritage preservation

The mission of a Geopark is to protect and conserve the integrity of a site's geological heritage, for the benefit of current and future generations. The enhancement and conservation of the site are the very foundations of the Geopark concept. It thus becomes a sustainable development tool for the communities. The information is adapted according to the history, the culture, the climatic conditions and the geographical situation of the site.

Développement scientifique

Le Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé est situé au cœur d’une grande chaîne orogénique, appelée les Appalaches, qui couvre le versant atlantique du continent nord-américain. Sa formation, liée aux événements magmatiques et tectoniques, est liée à l’ouverture de l’océan Atlantique au cours du Jurassique et du Crétacé (il y a environ 150 millions d’années). Au cours des derniers 20 000 ans, durant la dernière période glaciaire, le segment québécois de cette chaîne a été soumis à l’action érosive des éléments glaciaires, ce qui a façonné le paysage actuel.

Les visiteurs du Géoparc mondial UNESCO peuvent découvrir un territoire particulièrement riche en archives de roche (roches et fossiles) et diverses formes de relief qui témoignent de son passé ancien et récent. Les roches enregistrent 170 millions d’années d’histoire géologique régionale dans une très petite zone (40 km²) et il est possible de voir quelques vestiges glaciaires du Quaternaire. Ces roches, contrairement à beaucoup de leurs homologues ailleurs dans les Appalaches, sont faiblement métamorphosées, ce qui permet de reconnaître les textures et les structures formées lors de leur dépôt.

Les roches permettent de contempler plusieurs phénomènes géologiques : de la sédimentation aux processus de failles (de mètre à kilomètre) et de déformation liée à l’érosion, au transport sédimentaire, glissements de terrain, fossiles et dépôts de charbon (seule présence connue de charbon dans la province du Québec).


Un cadre d’exploration et d’observation

Le principal objectif d’un Géoparc est avant tout de conserver la structure de ses habitats, de sa faune et de sa flore. Il atteint ses objectifs par le biais d’une approche à trois volets : conservation, éducation et géotourisme. Un Géoparc offre un cadre d’exploration et d’observation, où il est possible de toucher, d’examiner et de reconnecter avec des spécimens d’intérêt, comme les structures rocheuses, les plantes rares et certaines espèces animales. Il fait également l’objet d’études scientifiques diverses, en plus d’offrir un éventail d’activités permettant de profiter des paysages.


Projets de recherches – Stages d’études – Emploi d’été

Le Géoparc de Percé a reçu en avril 2018 l’accréditation Géoparc mondial UNESCO. Cette reconnaissance démontre le potentiel du territoire pour les projets de recherches, les stages d’études et les emplois étudiants. Tous les géoparcs ont pour principal objectif la protection et la mise en valeur de leur patrimoine naturel et culturel. Documenter le patrimoine du territoire par l’acquisition de connaissances plus approfondies permettra à ce milieu exceptionnel de rayonner pleinement dans les années à venir.

Domaines d’études possibles au Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé : géologie, géographie, biologie, sociologie, anthropologie, histoire et archéologie.

Sciences naturelles
Le territoire du Géoparc de Percé correspond aux limites de la municipalité de Percé, de Cap d’Espoir à Fort-Prével. Les nombreux affleurements rocheux permettent d’apprécier une concentration de formations géologiques datant du Cambrien jusqu’au Carbonifère. Plusieurs domaines sont pertinents aux travaux de recherche, tels que la paléontologie et la géomorphologie du Quaternaire. Les milieux marins et terrestres supportent une riche biodiversité également, notamment au niveau du Barachois de Malbaie, le plus grand milieu humide de la Gaspésie.

Sciences humaines
Il s’agit d’un aspect très important au Géoparc de Percé, puisque l’organisme est né de la mobilisation de 20 entrepreneurs et 5 organismes du milieu. Ils se sont unis pour développer une coopérative de solidarité et ainsi créer un levier de développement durable pour Percé.

Au niveau historique et archéologique, le territoire est riche de plusieurs vagues migratoires. Notamment, des membres des nations micmac, basque, française, anglaise et acadienne se sont installés dans la région. Une étude de caractérisation archéologique a démontré le fort potentiel de Percé alors que très peu de fouilles archéologiques furent effectuées jusqu’à présent. (Étude de caractérisation archéologique du site patrimonial de Percé, 2015. ARCHÉOCÈNE inc., rapport inédit, 73 pages.)

Partenariats
Le Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé désire stimuler la recherche scientifique sur son territoire par des ententes et des partenariats avec les centres de recherches ainsi que les universités du Québec. L’organisme offre également un encadrement aux stages d’études, un support à la logistique terrain et des emplois d’été enrichissants dans un milieu ouvert et dynamique.

Si vous êtes intéressés par ce milieu au patrimoine naturel et culturel exceptionnel, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Contact : Isabelle Cyr-Parent, Responsable sciences et éducation
Courriel : isabellecyrparent@geoparcdeperce.com
Téléphone : 418-616-4249


La conservation de l’héritage

La mission d’un Géoparc est de protéger et de conserver l’intégrité de l’héritage géologique d’un site, pour le bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures. La mise en valeur et la conservation du site sont les fondements mêmes du concept de Géoparc. Il devient ainsi un outil de développement durable pour les communautés. L’information est adaptée en fonction de l’histoire, de la culture, des conditions climatiques et de la situation géographique du site.