Scientist Morning

Scientist Morning

Scientific mornings of the UNESCO Global Geopark in Percé are part of the regular 2019 summer program.
Beginning the 7 July.
Target audience: 6 to 12 years (but everyone is welcome)
Featured, 4 Workshops Club of the Debrouillards, in collaboration with the Technoscience of Eastern Quebec.

The proposed workshops will discover "The Great Debrouillards" youth. The theme is inspired by comics that bear the same name. Each workshop will be dedicated to a Canadian scientist who has marked our history. The Débrouillards will explore this theme through varied experiences.

Workshop #1: Marie-Victorin, the first Quebec scientist

Brother Marie-Victorin played a leading role in the Quebec science movement of the 1920 years. A scientist, religious and nationalist, he has found several ways to spread his knowledge and convictions. One of these means was the writing of his most important work and probably the most famous, Laurentian Flora. He also devoted himself to the creation of the Montreal Botanical Garden.

Workshop #2: John Tuzo Wilson, Continental Drift

John Tuzo Wilson is a Canadian geophysicist and geologist. It is the first student in geophysics from Canada to Trinity College from the University of Toronto where he graduated in 1930. He became famous worldwide for his outstanding contribution to the theory of plate tectonics, which explains the drift of continents.

Workshop #3: Elizabeth "Elsie" MacGill, a pioneer in aviation

She was the first female aeronautical engineer in North America and the first woman in the world to design planes. Known as the Hurricane Queen, she worked as an aeronautical engineer during the Second World War and did much for Canada's importance in aircraft construction. She once said, "I have received many engineering awards but I hope that I will be remembered for having defended the rights of women and children"

Workshop #4: Joseph Tyrrell, the discoverer of dinosaurs

A geologist, explorer, cartographer, mining consultant and Canadian historian, Joseph Tyrrell has explored several regions of Canada, allowing him to map Canada, expand his knowledge of wildlife and discover site rich in dinosaur bones.

WHERE AND WHEN?
Under the tent of the Geopark, behind the reception pavilion: every day from 9h to 10h.
Buy your tickets at the Geopark Pavilion or on site in cash: 10 $ taxes included.

WEEKLY PROGRAMMING

Sunday: John Tuzo Wilson Workshop
Monday: Marie-Victorin Workshop
Tuesday: Elizabeth MacGill Workshop
Wednesday: Joseph Tyrrell Workshop
Thursday: John Tuzo Wilson Workshop
Friday: Marie-Victorin Workshop
Saturday: Joseph Tyrrell Workshop

Here is our team of guides 2019 🙂

Matinées scientifiques

Matinées scientifiques

Les matinées scientifiques du Géoparc mondial UNESCO de Percé font partie de la programmation régulière de l’été 2019.
Début le 7 juillet.
Clientèle cible: 6 à 12 ans (mais tout le monde est bienvenu)
En vedette, 4 ateliers du Club des Débrouillards, en collaboration avec le Technoscience de l’Est-du-Québec.

Les ateliers proposés feront découvrir «Les Grands Débrouillards» aux jeunes. La thématique est inspirée des bandes dessinées qui portent le même nom. Chaque atelier sera dédié à un scientifique canadien qui a marqué notre histoire. Les Débrouillards exploreront ce thème à travers des expériences variées.

Atelier #1: Marie-Victorin, le premier scientifique québécois

Le frère Marie-Victorin a joué un rôle de premier plan dans le mouvement scientifique du Québec des années 1920. Homme de science, religieux et nationaliste, il a trouvé plusieurs moyens pour propager ses connaissances et ses convictions. L’un de ces moyens fut l’écriture de son ouvrage le plus important et sans doute le plus célèbre, La Flore Laurentienne. Il se consacra aussi à la création du Jardin botanique de Montréal.

Atelier #2 : John Tuzo Wilson, la dérive des continents

John Tuzo Wilson est un géophysicien et géologue canadien. Il est le premier étudiant en géophysique du Canada au Trinity College de l’Université de Toronto où il est diplômé en 1930. Il devient célèbre mondialement pour son exceptionnelle contribution à la théorie des tectoniques des plaques, qui explique la dérive des continents.

Atelier #3 : Elizabeth «Elsie» MacGill, une pionnière de l’aviation

Elle fut la première femme ingénieure en aéronautique en Amérique du Nord et la première femme au monde à concevoir des avions. Connue sous le nom de «Reine des ouragans», elle travaille comme ingénieure aéronautique pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et fait beaucoup pour l’importance du Canada dans la construction aéronautique. Elle dit un jour: “J’ai reçu de nombreux prix d’ingénierie mais j’espère que l’on se souviendra aussi de moi pour avoir défendu les droits des femmes et des enfants“.

Atelier #4: Joseph Tyrrell, le découvreur de dinosaures

Géologue, explorateur, cartographe, consultant minier et historien canadien, Joseph Tyrrell a exploré plusieurs régions du Canada lui permettant ainsi d’établir des cartes du Canada, d’élargir les connaissances relatives à la faune et la flore et de découvrir un site riche en ossements de dinosaures.

 

C’EST OÙ ET QUAND ?
Sous le chapiteau du Géoparc, derrière le pavillon d’accueil: tous les jours de 10h30 à 11h30.
Achetez vos billets au pavillon du Géoparc : 10$ taxes incluses.

PROGRAMMATION HEBDOMADAIRE

Dimanche:  Atelier John Tuzo Wilson
Lundi: Atelier Marie-Victorin
Mardi: Atelier Elizabeth MacGill
Mercredi: Atelier Joseph Tyrrell
Jeudi: Atelier John Tuzo Wilson
Vendredi: Atelier Marie-Victorin
Samedi: Atelier Joseph Tyrrell

 

Voici notre équipe de guides 2019 🙂